Olya Kuplowska, President

Eugene Hontscharuk, 1st VP

Roman Senkus, 2nd VP

Stefan Wilnyckyj, Treasurer

Wolodymyr Lewyckyj, Secretary



Larissa Blawatska

Orest Cap

Tetiana Gerych

Irene Jendzjowsky

Michael Savaryn


Executive Administrator

Nadia Gereliouk 



The Canadian Foundation for Ukrainian Studies was created in 1975 under the laws of Canada and the Canada Corporations Act (Section II). Effective February 3, 2014, CFUS was continued corporately under the new Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act with no changes to its aims and objectives.

The Foundation’s work is guided by a Board of Directors comprised of up to 21 individuals drawn from various regions of Canada (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Ottawa/Gatineau, Québec, Atlantic provinces).

The Executive Committee is responsible for the day-to-day activities of the Foundation and is comprised of the following: President, 1st Vice-President, 2nd Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary.

The Executive Committee is assisted by a number of other committees to whom specific tasks are relegated. These are:

Investment Committee *

reviews and recommends investment options to the Executive Committee and Board of Directors

Fund-Raising Committee *

discusses and implements fund-raising projects

Programs & Awards Committee

assists with adjudication of the Foundation’s various programs, awards, fellowships and scholarships; recommendations are submitted to the Executive Committee for approval

Governance Committee

to discuss governance issues and ensure the Board is in compliance with best practices; makes recommendations to Executive Committee and Board of Directors

Ad Hoc Juries or Selection Committees

convened as necessary to adjudicate Foundation awards and grants that may require jury members to have a special knowledge or familiarity with a certain discipline or subject matter; term of office is limited, until selection of candidate(s)

* Standing Committees, as per the constitution


Standing Committees are chaired by members of the Executive Committee.

Other committees can be chaired by any director.

Board directors are invited to serve on committees according to their interest and their expertise.

Non-directors may also be called upon to serve on committees as needed.

The Head Office is located in the city where the President and most of the Executive members live. Currently, the Head Office is located in Toronto. In the past, it has been located in Edmonton, Vancouver, and Winnipeg.